Iowa Area Code

Iowa area codes are numeric identifiers used for telecommunications. For instance, Area Code 319 serves eastern Iowa, including Cedar Rapids. Area Code 515 covers central Iowa, including Des Moines. Area Code 563 includes eastern cities like Davenport, while Area Code 641 serves central and southern Iowa, including Ames. Area Code 712 is used in western Iowa, including Sioux City. These codes help organize phone services in different regions of Iowa.

State Iowa
State Abbreviation: IA
State Nickname: Hawkeye State Equality State
Capital City Des Moines
Area Codes 319, 515, 563, 641, 712
Timezone Central Time Zone (CT)
wyoming map usa-areacodes.word wyoming map usa-areacodes.word

What time zone is Iowa?

Iowa falls within the Central Time Zone (CT) in the United States. The Central Time Zone is typically UTC-6 during Standard Time (Central Standard Time or CST) and UTC-5 during Daylight Saving Time (Central Daylight Time or CDT), which is observed from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November. Iowa follows this time zone, aligning its local time with the Central Time Zone to coordinate schedules and timekeeping.

Note that the start and end dates of daylight saving time can change


KIowa's area code history evolved as the state's telecommunications needs grew. Originally, Iowa had a single area code, 515. However, due to increasing demand, new area codes were introduced. In 2001, Area Code 319 was added for eastern Iowa, including cities like Cedar Rapids. Area Code 563 covered eastern areas, including Davenport. Des Moines retained Area Code 515, while codes like 641 and 712 served central and southern Iowa and western regions, respectively. These changes aimed to efficiently manage telephone services in a growing state.

All Area Codes in Iowa

This table provides a quick overview of all area codes, their locations, and some historical context for each.

Area Code Location History and Details
319 Eastern Iowa Covers eastern Iowa, including cities like Cedar Rapids and Iowa City.
515 Central Iowa Serves central Iowa, including Des Moines, the state's capital.
563 Eastern Iowa Encompasses eastern Iowa, including cities like Davenport and Dubuque.
641 Central & Southern Iowa Covers central and southern Iowa, including cities such as Ames and Ottumwa.
712 Western Iowa Serves western Iowa, including cities like Sioux City and Council Bluffs.

Largest Cities in iowa with area codes

Quick overview of large cities, their area codes, and some historical context for each in Georgia.

Name Area Code History and Details
Des Moines 515 The capital and largest city in Iowa, known for its vibrant culture and economic significance.
Cedar Rapids 319 Iowa's second-largest city, recognized for its cultural attractions and economic development.
Davenport 563 A major city in eastern Iowa, known for its history and scenic riverfront.
Sioux City 712 A prominent city in western Iowa, recognized for its cultural diversity and economic activity.
Iowa City 319 Home to the University of Iowa, known for its educational institutions, literary history, and vibrant arts scene.
Waterloo 319 Located in eastern Iowa, known for its manufacturing industry and cultural events.
Ames 515 A city in central Iowa, home to Iowa State University and known for its contributions to agriculture and technology.
West Des Moines 515 A suburb of Des Moines known for its commercial and retail developments.
Council Bluffs 712 Located in western Iowa, near Omaha, Nebraska, known for its historical sites and recreational opportunities.
Dubuque 563 A city in eastern Iowa, known for its rich history, architecture, and location along the Mississippi River.