New York Area Code

New York State is served by a variety of area codes, with the most well-known being 212, which covers Manhattan. Additionally, the five boroughs of New York City have multiple area codes, including 718, 917, and 347. Upstate New York and other regions also have their own unique area codes, ensuring efficient communication across the state.

State New York
State Abbreviation: NY
State Nickname: Empire State Equality State
Capital City Albany
Area Codes 212, 315, 347, 516, 518, 585, 607, 631, 646, 716, 718, 845, 914, 917, 929
Timezone Eastern Time (ET)
wyoming map usa-areacodes.word wyoming map usa-areacodes.word

What time zone is New York?

New York is located in the Eastern Time Zone (ET), which is UTC-5 during Standard Time (EST) and UTC-4 during Daylight Saving Time (EDT). The state observes Daylight Saving Time, which usually begins on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November when clocks are set forward by one hour. This time zone encompasses New York City and the broader state of New York.

Note that the start and end dates of daylight saving time can change


The history of New York's area codes is closely tied to the development and expansion of the telephone system in the state. When the North American Numbering Plan (NANP) was established in 1947, New York was initially assigned the iconic "212" area code, which covered the entire state. However, as the population and telecommunications needs of New York grew, additional area codes were introduced to provide enough unique phone numbers. This led to the creation of numerous area codes, such as "315" for upstate areas and "516" for Long Island. Subsequently, further subdivisions occurred to cater to specific regions within the state, including the boroughs of New York City, to ensure efficient communication.

All Area Codes in New York.

Area Code Location History and Details
212 Manhattan, NYC Primarily serves Manhattan, part of New York City.
718 Brooklyn, Queens, Bronx, Staten Island Covers the boroughs of Brooklyn, Queens, Staten Island, and the Bronx within NYC.
917 New York City (Mobile) Serves mobile phone numbers in New York City.
516 Nassau County, Long Island Covers Nassau County on Long Island.
631 Suffolk County, Long Island Serves Suffolk County on Long Island.
914 Westchester County, Hudson Valley Includes Westchester County and parts of the Hudson Valley.
845 Hudson Valley, Catskill Regions Serves the Hudson Valley and Catskill regions.
716 Western New York, Buffalo Covers Western New York, including Buffalo and its suburbs.
315 Central New York, Syracuse Serves areas in Central New York, including Syracuse.
585 Rochester, Western NY Includes Rochester and the western part of the state.
607 Southern Tier, Central NY Covers Southern Tier and central regions of the state.
518 Capital District, Northeastern NY Serves the Capital District and northeastern New York.

Largest Cities in New York with area codes

Quick overview of large cities, their area codes, and some historical context for each New York.

Name Area Code History and Details
New York City 212, 332, 646, 917, 718, 347, 929, 917 The largest city in New York State, comprising five boroughs: Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, and Staten Island. It has multiple area codes.
Buffalo 716 Buffalo is a major city in western New York with area code 716.
Rochester 585 Rochester, located in western New York, is served by area code 585.
Yonkers 914 Yonkers, a city in Westchester County, has area code 914.
Syracuse 315, 680 Syracuse, located in central New York, is served by area codes 315 and 680.
Albany 518 Albany, the state capital of New York, has area code 518.
New Rochelle 914 New Rochelle, located in Westchester County, uses area code 914.
Mount Vernon 914 Mount Vernon, another city in Westchester County, also has area code 914.
Schenectady 518 Schenectady, in eastern New York, is served by area code 518.
Utica 315, 680 Utica, located in central New York, has area codes 315 and 680.