North Dakota area Code

North Dakota, located in the Upper Midwest, primarily uses two area codes: 701 and 605. Area code 701 serves the majority of the state, including cities like Bismarck and Fargo, while area code 605 covers the southern part of North Dakota. These area codes help connect communities in this sparsely populated but geographically expansive state.

State North Dakota
State Abbreviation: ND
State Nickname: Peace Garden State Equality State
Capital City Bismarck
Area Codes 701
Timezone Central Time Zone (CT) , Mountain Time Zone (MT)
wyoming map usa-areacodes.word wyoming map usa-areacodes.word

What time zone is North Dakota?

North Dakota primarily operates in two time zones. The majority of the state, including cities like Fargo and Bismarck, follows the Central Time Zone (CT). During daylight saving time (DST), it observes Central Daylight Time (CDT, UTC-5), while during standard time, it uses Central Standard Time (CST, UTC-6). A small southwestern part of North Dakota, near the Montana border, observes the Mountain Time Zone (MT). During DST, it follows Mountain Daylight Time (MDT, UTC-6), and during standard time, it uses Mountain Standard Time (MST, UTC-7). Specific location details may vary, so it's advisable to confirm time zone information for precise locations.

Note that the start and end dates of daylight saving time can change


Area code 701 has a rich history in North Dakota, dating back to its inception as one of the original area codes in the North American Numbering Plan (NANP) in 1947. Initially covering the entire state, it remained the solitary area code for North Dakota for decades. However, as telecommunication technology evolved and the demand for phone numbers surged, an overlay area code was introduced in 2000 to address the growing need for telephone numbers while retaining the familiar 701 code. This overlay allowed North Dakotans to continue using the well-established area code while adapting to the changing communication landscape. Today, area code 701, along with its overlay, serves as a vital part of North Dakota's telecommunications infrastructure, connecting residents and businesses across the state.

All Area Codes in North Dakota

This table provides a quick overview of all area codes, their locations, and some historical context for each.

Area Code Location History and Details
701 North Dakota The primary area code for the entire state of North Dakota.

Largest Cities in North Dakota with area codes

Quick overview of large cities, their area codes, and some historical context for each in North Dakota.

Name Area Code History and Details
Fargo 701 Fargo is the largest city in North Dakota and is known for its economic growth and cultural attractions.
Bismarck 701 Bismarck is the capital city of North Dakota and a center for government and commerce.
Grand Forks 701 Grand Forks is a major city in the eastern part of the state, known for its education and healthcare institutions.
Minot 701 Minot is located in north-central North Dakota and is known for its Air Force base and cultural events.
West Fargo 701 West Fargo is a growing city near Fargo and is recognized for its suburban development.
Mandan 701 Mandan, located near Bismarck, has a rich Native American heritage and is known for its annual powwow.
Dickinson 701 Dickinson is in western North Dakota and is associated with energy and agriculture industries.
Jamestown 701 Jamestown is known for its tourism, including the National Buffalo Museum.