South Dakota Area Code

South Dakota primarily uses the area code 605, covering the entire state, including cities like Sioux Falls and Rapid City.

State South Dakota
State Abbreviation: SD
State Nickname: Mount Rushmore State Equality State
Capital City Pierre
Area Codes 605
Timezone Central Time (CT) , Mountain Time (MT)
wyoming map usa-areacodes.word wyoming map usa-areacodes.word

What time zone is South Dakota?

South Dakota's area code 605 mainly observes the Central Time Zone (CT), except for some western areas near the Black Hills, which use the Mountain Time Zone (MT).

Note that the start and end dates of daylight saving time can change


South Dakota's area code 605, established in 1947, has remained unchanged, covering the entire state due to its lower population density. Unlike more densely populated areas that often undergo frequent area code changes, South Dakota's 605 area code has maintained stability. However, it's important to note that area code assignments can change over time, so staying updated through recent sources or telecommunications authorities is recommended.

All Area Codes in South Dakota

This table provides a quick overview of all area codes, their locations, and some historical context for each.

Area Code Location History and Details
605 South Dakota Area code 605 covers the entire state of South Dakota, serving cities, towns, and communities throughout the state.

Largest Cities in South Dakota with area codes

Quick overview of large cities, their area codes, and some historical context for each in South Dakota.

Name Area Code History and Details
Sioux Falls 605 Sioux Falls is the largest city in South Dakota, served by area code 605. It's known for its thriving economy, healthcare institutions, and vibrant community.
Rapid City 605 Rapid City, located in the western part of South Dakota, falls under area code 605. It offers access to outdoor adventures and cultural attractions.
Aberdeen 605 Aberdeen, served by area code 605, is a city in northeastern South Dakota known for its educational institutions and healthcare facilities.
Brookings 605 Brookings, under area code 605, is home to South Dakota State University and has a strong focus on education and agriculture.
Watertown 605 Watertown, located in the northeastern part of South Dakota, offers beautiful lakes and outdoor recreational activities.
Mitchell 605 Mitchell, known for the Corn Palace, is a unique city in South Dakota served by area code 605.
Yankton 605 Yankton, situated along the Missouri River, offers scenic beauty and outdoor recreation.
Pierre 605 Pierre, the state capital, is located in central South Dakota along the Missouri River.
Huron 605 Huron, a city in central South Dakota, is known for its agricultural and industrial activities.
Vermillion 605 Vermillion is home to the University of South Dakota and is known for its educational presence.
Spearfish 605 Spearfish, located in the northern Black Hills region, offers outdoor adventures and natural beauty.
Brandon 605 Brandon is a city in the Sioux Falls metropolitan area known for its suburban amenities.