Tennessee Area Code

Tennessee, in the southeastern U.S., uses several area codes for telecommunications. The main one, 615, covers Nashville and Middle Tennessee. Other area codes like 423, 901, and 865 serve different areas. These codes help organize phone communications, but they can change, so it's wise to check for current information.

State Tennessee
State Abbreviation: TN
State Nickname: Volunteer State Equality State
Capital City Nashville
Area Codes 423, 615, 731, 865, 901, 931
Timezone Eastern Time (ET)
wyoming map usa-areacodes.word wyoming map usa-areacodes.word

What time zone is Tennessee?

Tennessee area codes are primarily in the Eastern Time Zone (ET). During standard time, they follow Eastern Standard Time (EST), and during daylight saving time, they switch to Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). Some areas near the western border may use the Central Time Zone (CT).

Note that the start and end dates of daylight saving time can change


Tennessee has seen changes in its area codes to accommodate the growing need for phone numbers. Originally served by area code 901, the state introduced 615 for Middle Tennessee and later added codes like 423, 865, and 731 as demand increased. The most recent change was the introduction of the 629 overlay to provide more numbers in the 615 region. These adaptations illustrate the state's efforts to maintain efficient telecommunications services for its residents and businesses.

All Area Codes in Tennessee

This table provides a quick overview of all area codes, their locations, and some historical context for each.

Area Code Location History and Details
901 Memphis Area code 901 serves the southwestern part of Tennessee, including the city of Memphis.
615 Nashville Area code 615 covers Middle Tennessee, including cities like Nashville, Murfreesboro, and Franklin.
423 Chattanooga Area code 423 serves the eastern part of Tennessee, including the city of Chattanooga.
865 Knoxville Area code 865 is assigned to the Knoxville metropolitan area and surrounding regions in East Tennessee.
731 Jackson Area code 731 covers parts of western and central Tennessee, including the city of Jackson.
615/629 Middle Tennessee Area code 629 is an overlay for the 615 area code, serving the same regions in Middle Tennessee.

Largest Cities in Tennessee with area codes

Quick overview of large cities, their area codes, and some historical context for each in Tennessee.

Name Area Code History and Details
Memphis 901 Memphis, with area code 901, is the largest city in Tennessee and known for its rich music and cultural heritage.
Nashville 615 Nashville, with area code 615, is the state capital and a hub for the country music industry.
Knoxville 865 Knoxville, with area code 865, is known for its scenic beauty and cultural attractions in East Tennessee.
Chattanooga 423 Chattanooga, with area code 423, offers a mix of outdoor adventure and modern amenities in southeastern Tennessee.
Clarksville 931 Clarksville, with area code 931, is a city near Fort Campbell and known for its military presence.
Murfreesboro 615 Murfreesboro, with area code 615, is one of the fastest-growing cities in Tennessee and home to Middle Tennessee State University.
Jackson 731 Jackson, with area code 731, is a city in western Tennessee known for its historical and cultural significance.
Johnson City 423 Johnson City, with area code 423, is located in the northeastern part of the state and is home to East Tennessee State University.
Franklin 615 Franklin, with area code 615, is a historic city known for its charming downtown and proximity to Nashville.
Hendersonville 615 Hendersonville, with area code 615, is a suburban city situated on the shores of Old Hickory Lake.