Wisconsin Area Code

Wisconsin, a northern U.S. state, employs multiple area codes to manage its telephone infrastructure efficiently. Key area codes include 414 for Milwaukee, 608 for southern and southwestern regions, 715 for northwestern areas, and 920 for northeastern parts, including Green Bay. These codes help designate telephone numbers by geographic location, but they can change as the demand for phone numbers evolves. For the most current information, it's recommended to consult local telecommunications authorities.

State Wisconsin
State Abbreviation: WI
State Nickname: Badger State Equality State
Capital City Madison
Area Codes 262, 414, 608, 715, 920
Timezone Central Time Zone (CT)
wyoming map usa-areacodes.word wyoming map usa-areacodes.word

What time zone is Wisconsin?

Wisconsin is in the Central Time Zone (CT), UTC-6:00 during Standard Time and UTC-5:00 during Daylight Saving Time.

Note that the start and end dates of daylight saving time can change


Wisconsin's area codes have evolved over the years to accommodate population growth and increased telecommunications demand. It started with area code 414 in 1947 and later introduced codes like 715, 920, 608, 262, and 534 to distribute phone numbers effectively across the state. These changes reflect the evolving technology and communication needs in Wisconsin.

All Area Codes in Wisconsin

This table provides a quick overview of all area codes, their locations, and some historical context for each.

Area Code Location History and Details
414 Milwaukee and Surrounding Areas Original area code for Milwaukee, introduced in 1947.
262 Milwaukee, Racine, and Kenosha Areas Introduced to serve areas around Milwaukee.
608 Madison, La Crosse, and Southwestern Wisconsin Covers regions like Madison and La Crosse.
715 Northern Wisconsin (Eau Claire, Wausau) Introduced to cover northern Wisconsin areas.
920 Green Bay, Appleton, and Northeastern Wisconsin Serves cities like Green Bay and Appleton.

Largest Cities in Wisconsin with area codes

Quick overview of large cities, their area codes, and some historical context for each in Wisconsin.

Name Area Code History and Details
Milwaukee 414 Wisconsin's largest city, known for its diverse culture and economic significance.
Madison 608 The state capital of Wisconsin, home to the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Green Bay 920 Known for the Green Bay Packers, this city sits on Lake Michigan's western shore.
Kenosha 262 Located on Lake Michigan, Kenosha offers a mix of culture, history, and outdoor activities.
Racine 262 Known for its beautiful lakefront and historic architecture.
Appleton 920 A vibrant city in northeastern Wisconsin with a strong cultural scene.
Waukesha 262 A city in the Milwaukee metropolitan area with a rich history.
Oshkosh 920 Known for its aviation heritage and annual EAA AirVenture Oshkosh event.
Eau Claire 715 Located in western Wisconsin, known for its natural beauty and outdoor activities.
Janesville 608 A city in southern Wisconsin with a strong manufacturing history.